Sandinista !

(Released 12th December,1980)


Sandinista was named after the revolutionary Nicaraguan group.


 A cover photo-session was arranged with Pennie Smith and the band lined up against a wall behind King's Cross station amongst the Railway arches with small workshops nearby.




List of songs :

Disc 1  And Disc 2




Reissues of Sandanista! restore the West Ham United Football Club graffati in Pennie Smith's original photograph. It had been airbrushed out when the album was first released in December 1980.

Modern Britain has been reshaped by bulldozers, technology and international links......the new Eurostar train has meant the Sandinista LP cover has been replaced by redesigned 'railway arches'

Hi Don,
Iím writing you from France to let you know I think I found the location of SANDINISTA cover.
My hobby/passion is to track down details in famous photos or paintings to find their exact location.
Knowing the shooting was behind Kings Cross Station and after reading your article about this place, redesigned because of the Eurostar train, I looked first with Street View at Pancras Road under the railway bridge. Unfortunately those walls and the railway bridge there have been rebuilt.
So I looked for images about this area and found one (only one) that looked like the Clash cover location and taken in 1985 before redevelopment at Camley Sreet.
I searched for clues and found many ones like the hole near the pipe at the bottom left, the same pattern of pipes at the top of the wall or same iron girders of the railway overhead.
Several clues at the same place of the wall as on the Clash shot, canít be just a coincidence.
See by yourself the images attached.
Best regards,
Marie Fotini (30.7.16) -


Full details behind the LP location:






The Armagideon Times.


Disc 1 

 1 The Magnificent Seven***

 2 Hitsville

 3 Junco Partner

 4 Ivan Meets G.I. Joe

 5 The Leader

 6 Something About England

 7 Rebel Waltz

 8 Look Here

 9 The Crooked Beat

10 Somebody Got Murdered

11 One More Time

12 One More Dub

13 Lightning Strikes

   (Not Once But Twice)

14 Up In Heaven

   (Not Only Here)

15 Corner Soul

16 Lets Go Crazy

17 If Music Could Talk

18 The Sound Of Sinners

  Disc 2

 1 Police On My Back

 2 Midnight Log

 3 The Equaliser

 4 The Call Up

 5 Washington Bullets

 6 Broadway

 7 Lose This Skin

 8 Charlie Don't Surf

 9 Mensforth Hill

10 Junkie Slip

11 Kingston Advice

12 The Street Parade

13 Version City

14 Living In Fame

15 Silicone On Sapphire

16 Version Pardner

17 Career Opportunities

18 Shepherds Delight


The 1981 punk-rock song ďThe Magnificent SevenĒ isnít about Yul Brynner and the 1960 all-star Western of the same name, but something even more mundane and also more threatening: the endless cycle of work, consumption and work.

On the cover of ďThe Magnificent SevenĒ (the record) is a clock showing seven. The songís title is about time, that unpaid labour time of getting up and getting to work day after day.

Ring, ring, itís 7:00am move yourself to go again.

Everyone has to reconstitute themselves everyday for work.

The song is a brilliant reflection on labour time and the endless reproduction of ourselves as a commodity, labour power. In other words, we have no alternative but to exchange our time for money, which is why the time away from work is a moment of liberation.




The Clash rarely left the studio, working through into the early morning day after day. Much of the material recorded was written on the spot, using rap and dub, and developed from jams.    


(Refer to " The Complete CLASH " by Keith Topping for detailed information about each song).


Tony Fletcher's " the Clash.....the Complete Guide to their Music (2005)  " features an album by album, track by track analysis & information on when and where the music was recorded.

Click to Combat Rock Page